About Joint Economic Committee

The Joint Economic Committee (JEC) was created when Congress passed the Employment Act of 1946. Under this Act, Congress established two advisory panels: the President's Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) and the Joint Economic Committee. Their primary tasks are to review economic conditions and to recommend improvements in economic policy.

Chairmanship of the Committee alternates between the Senate and House every Congress. The Chairman of the Committee for the 113th Congress is Representative Kevin Brady of Texas. The Vice Chair is Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota. The Senior Republican Senator is Senator Dan Coats of Indiana.

Chairman's Staff

Robert O'Quinn Jeff Schlagenhauf
Executive Director Senior Advisor
Theodore Boll Christina King
Senior Economist Economist
Energy Policy Advisor
Douglas Branch Al Felzenberg
Senior Policy Advisor Press Secretary
Doug Centilli Steve Robinson
Director of Economic Policy Senior Policy Advisor
Healthcare and Social Security
Connie Foster Hank Butler
Executive Assistant Research Assistant